

DATE February 25, 2011

Members of the Transportation and Environment Committee: Linda L. Koop (Chair), Sheffie Kadane (Vice Chair), Jerry Allen, Tennell Atkins, Carolyn R. Davis, Vonciel Jones Hill, Delia Jasso, Pauline Medrano, Ron Natinsky

SUBJECT 2011 DART Board Nominee Appointment Timeline

On July 1, 2011, the terms of six DART Board Members will expire. The appointees whose terms will expire are:

- Place 03 Scott Carlson
- Place 04 Claude Williams
- Place 05 Pamela Dunlop Gates
- Place 06 William Tsao
- Place 07 William Velasco
- Place 08 Jerry Christian

The DART Board Nominee Appointment procedure is outlined in the attached timeline.

Please contact me if you need additional information.

Jill A. Jordan, P.E. Assistant City Manager

c: The Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council Mary K. Suhm, City Manager Thomas P. Perkins, Jr. City Attorney Deborah Watkins, City Secretary Craig Kinton, City Auditor Judge C. Victor Lander, Administrative Judge Ryan S. Evans, First Assistant City Manager A.C. Gonzalez, Assistant City Manager Forest Turner, Assistant City Manager Jeanne Chipperfield, Chief Financial Officer Edward Scott, Director, Controller's Office Frank Librio, Public Information Office Helena Stevens-Thompson, Assistant to the City Manager – Council Office Theresa O'Donnell, Director, Sustainable Development and Construction

APPOINTMENT TIMELINE

Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board

January 7, 2011 (Friday)	City Council receives a memo requesting nominees or re- nominees to fill Places 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8. The terms of those six places expire June 30, 2011.
January/February 2011	Weekly updates on nominees and background checks will be provided to City Councilmembers. •Weekly status memo to include notice that deadline is firm, no exceptions.
February 28, 2011 (Monday)	Deadline for City Councilmembers to submit nominations or re-nominations.
April 11, 2011 (Monday)	Transportation and Environment Council Committee interviews nominees.
April 13, 2011 (Wednesday)	City Council votes on Transportation and Environment Council Committee recommendations.
July 1, 2011	Terms begin for new appointees.